Pet Dental Care

Just like humans, pets need their teeth cared for too. Using proper brushing and cleaning, you can save your pet from dental disease. By starting a regular tooth brushing program early, it will be easier for both you and your pet. Without regular brushing, your pet could develop tooth decay and periodontal disease.

Plaque forms on the teeth between brushings. It is kind of gooey and is a mixture of bacteria, saliva and food. If not removed, it hardens to form tarter, which is much harder to remove. If tarter builds up too much, it can irritate the gums and cause gingivitis, which makes the gums turn red and become inflamed. At this point, you might start to notice bad breath and a decreased appetite.

If the tarter is not removed, it can build up under the gum line and cause an infection. At this point, your pet has periodontal disease. Periodontal disease can lead to tooth loss, abscesses and even bone loss. If the infection is not taken care of promptly, it can lead to heart and liver failure.

How do you prevent Periodontal Disease?
Preventing Periodontal Disease is quite easy. With regular veterinarian visits and daily toothbrushing, your pet will be problem free.

5 thoughts on “Pet Dental Care

  1. quanny says:

    You can do this at home too, no problem! My mom brushes my teeth every week, she started when I was little and I actually rather enjoy it. She doesn’t use human toothpaste, it has stuff in it that is bad for me. Often she doesn’t use even doggy toothpaste, she just brushes with my toothbrush and water. Really, I don’t mind at all and I don’t give her a hard time. You can do this at home and not even put it off for a vet visit. Try it! 🙂

  2. I try to brush Tinky, Sissy and Jonesy’s teeth on a regular basis, but it kinda gets overwhelming (just like trimming their nails). They throw such fits and I think I am hurting them.

    Anyway, I bought this stuff called Oxyfresh. You put a few teaspoons in two quarts of water and it helps with the plaque. Their breath also smells good. No stinky doggy breath. They also have a tooth gel.

    Have you ever heard of Oxyfresh and if you have, what do you think about it?

  3. No, I haven’t ever heard of it. I use C.E.T. toothpastes and treats. The C.E.T. treats have enzymes that break down tarter, plus the cats love them! They look like freeze-dried fish when you pull them apart (I have to since Miss Daisy is too picky to just chew them herself!).

  4. I brush my dog’s teeth each day with a dog toothpaste and toothbrush which keeps her teeth so very white and clean. Some pet owners are unaware that this is a must to keep the doggie dental bills lower.

  5. the Oxyfresh pet products do exactly what they are supposed to. Between the pet oral hygiene solution and the pet gel…our dogs gums are much improved and doggy breath gone.

    I personally use the Oxyfresh Dental Success system for myself and my mouth has never felt so good.

    try it…. Oxyfresh offers a 30-day trial

    http://www.pethealthmatters.com

Leave a Reply

